Central Methodist University Nursing School Review

Central Methodist University (CMU), dating back to mid 19th century is a church affiliated university of the United Methodist Church. The four year private university has undergone a long of history of acquiring names, changing ownership and merging with other colleges in Missouri. It operated as Central Methodist college from 1961 until 2004 when a vote was passed to change the name to Central Methodist University. This was meant to reflect the extended scope of studies and the general increase in the number of students and service delivery.

Nursing Programs at Central Methodist University

Nursing programs at the university are under the Health Professions academic division. There are baccalaureates and master-level nursing degree programs offered in the main and other satellite campuses. Graduate nursing programs are only offered in satellites campuses while baccalaureate programs are offered in both. Accreditation for the programs has been granted by the Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education and has also been approved by Missouri State Board on Nursing.


The Bachelor of Science degree program at Central Methodist University welcomes fresh nursing students at the main campus only; College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.  This traditional nursing program requires a minimum of 124 credits, 55 of which are of nursing major courses and the rest of liberal arts and general education courses. It takes four years to complete and successful completion awards the student a Bachelor of Science in nursing degree and eligibility for licensure as a RN after successfully completing the NCLEX-RN exam.

Nursing-RN to BSN

This program takes in registered nurses who are graduates of diploma or associate in nursing programs. The completion of the Bachelor of Science in nursing (RN to BSN) is offered in 10 out of the 14 satellite locations of Central Methodist University sites. The program curriculum is offered in independent Central Methodist University Campuses in addition to collaboration with the following colleges under the College of Graduate and Extended Studies (CGES).

  • State Fair Community College
  • Three Rivers College
  • Mineral Area College
  • East Central College

Basically, the nursing programs at the College of Graduate and Extended Studies are meant to build on former nursing experiences and help RNs complete their BSNs. Additionally, some of the colleges and campuses under the CGES prepare students for their first two years with a pre- nursing program for transfer to Central Methodist or other colleges. Most of the program courses are also delivered in flexible part time, distance, online and (or) evening/weekends modes. The combination however, varies among the 10 CGES campuses.

Master of Science in Nursing: Clinical Nurse Leader

This program at Central Methodist University is offered in three campuses of the CGES namely St. Louis, Columbia and St. Anthony’s.  The CNL program is also offered online and therefore, students are free to choose from the three site based or the online options. 34 Credit hours are required to complete the program to be eligible to graduate. CMU also offers a post masters program for the Clinical Nurse Leader program for MSN prepared Students.

Central Methodist University
411 central Methodist Square, Fayette,
MO 65248