Accelerated BSN Programs in Kansas

By our count, there are only two accelerated BSN degrees at schools in Kansas. Featured online programs and the full list of accelerated bachelor’s of science in nursing programs are highlighted below. You might consider an online program, especially if you live in more remote areas of Kansas.

MidAmerica Nazarene University
2030 E. College Way, Olathe, KS 66062-1899. Tel: 913-782-3750.
MidAmerica Nazarene University (MNU) is a private, Christian institution located on a 100-acre campus in Olathe, Kansas, near Kansas City, Missouri.  Founded in 1966, MidAmerica Nazarene University is one of 8 universities affiliated with the Church of the Nazarene.  MNU enrolls over 1,700 students and offers undergraduate and graduate degrees in over 40 majors.

The School of Nursing and Health Science offers an Accelerated BSN Program for students with bachelors degrees seeking to make a career change.  The accelerated bachelors in nursing  program allows students to complete the classroom work and clinicals necessary to earn a BSN in 12 months.  To qualify for this 2nd degree BSN program, the applicant must have a bachelor degree, must be an LPN (Licensed Practical Nurse) who has completed at least 64 hours of college coursework, or must have completed at least 90 hours of college coursework.   In addition, the applicant must have completed the prerequisite classes prior to admission.  The prerequisite classes include:  Human Growth and Development/Child Development, Intermediate Algebra, or higher level algebra course, English Comp I, Public Speaking, Anatomy and Physiology, Human Nutrition, Probability and Statistics and Ethics. The application deadline is in May.

Wichita State University

Wichita State University

1845 Fairmount St. Wichita, KS 67260,


Wichita State University (WSU) is a public university located on a 300-acre campus in Wichita, Kansas.  The Wichita campus has been noted for its large outdoor sculpture collection.  WSU also has satellite campuses in Derby and Maize.  WSU was founded in 1886 by the Rev. Joseph Homer Parker.  It was originally a private, congregational school called Fairmount College.  In 1926 Fairmount College became a public non-denominational school called Municipal University of Wichita.  In 1964 its name was changed to Wichita State University.

The School of Nursing began in 1967 as a department within the University College, offering only the bachelors degree.  Since then it has received approval to confer graduate level degrees and is now part of the College of Health Professions.  The School of Nursing now also offers several options for achieving the BSN degree, including the Accelerated BSN Option.  Designed for students who have already earned a bachelors degree, this second degree BSN program allows qualified students to earn a BSN degree after 15 months of intensive classwork and clinicals, including weekend and evening scheduling.   The program begins each year in May and ends in August of the following year.  To qualify for this ABSN (Accelerated Bachelor of Science in Nursing) program, the applicant must have a bachelors degree from another field and must have completed the prerequisite classes prior to admission.  The application deadline is in September.